backup with new logfile

hello.

Ive been running a ddrescue on and off for a few days trying to restore a 200gb harddisk. Today I mistyped the logfile name. the status showed that the image was being run from the beginning agaain. will this mean that everything that had been imaged befoe this has been lost? or can I continue with the old image file?

thanks.

Gnu ddrescue doesn't

Gnu ddrescue doesn't truncate (erase) by default. Your image is fine. Identical data was written in place of the data that was there before.

The only problem is if you read from another drive over top of the image - then that would be a problem since different data would be written in place of the data you want.